Halfway and Hell to Pay

I’ve passed the 50 000 word mark in my new novel, officially past the halfway point. I’m not sure exactly how long the entire thing will be, but usually I end up with about 90 000 words.

celebratesmiley

Now I’m over the midway point, it also seems to be the holy-crap-this-better-start-making-sense point. All those little things at the beginning I thought, “Oh, I’ll just figure that out later” or “I’ll write myself into that” are all starting to rear their crafty heads and laugh. Some are are less jovial and stare at me with a stern look. Still others get quite worked up, demanding that I figure this crap out, screaming at me to figure out all those plot points that weren’t quite worked out before.

My list of “Things to Go Back and Fix” is growing by the day into an intimidating file. Yet, at the same time, it’s exciting because I know all those fixes are going to make this novel a million times better. Right?

Despite all appearances to the opposite, here’s hoping the second half comes together without too much blood, sweat and tears. Oh, who am I kidding, right? But it will be worth it. I think.

6 Comments

Filed under Random Wickhamness, Sandra's Writing, Writing

6 responses to “Halfway and Hell to Pay

  1. Shadow

    Good luck!

  2. I’m in the same place, Sandra! Though it’s taken me a lot longer to get there. Congrats! And Good luck 🙂

Leave a Reply

