Weighing in On Weightism

I’m sure you’ve heard about the ridiculous statements from Abercrombie and Fitch’s CEO, Mike Jeffries about their attitude toward overweight people. If you haven’t, Elitedaily.com has a clear article on what he said. Basically, he says the reason they don’t stock larger sizes in their store is that they don’t want overweight, unattractive people wearing their clothing. He says, “Are we exclusionary? Absolutely.” That makes you, Mr. Jeffries, a weightist, discriminating and/or stereotyping someone based on their weight. (Incidentally, this goes the other way too, just because someone is athletic, doesn’t meant they have inferior intelligence, but that’s a discussion for another post).

I wasn’t going to blog about it because I wasn’t sure if I had anything more to add to the conversations that have already been going on. I’m still not, but incase anyone was unaware of the CEO’s attitudes, I wanted to spread the word. I’m not posting any Abercrombie and Fitch logos or pictures with this blog, since the last thing I want to do is promote them.

Sadly, the scariest part for me was when I was looking for links to the original interview, I found discussion board conversations of people supporting what he said. It’s clear we need to educate people on judging someone by their appearance, not to mention the ridiculous notions on what makes a person attractive.

You’d think with an attitude like that, the company would go under in minutes. I’m looking forward to seeing if this has any impact on the company’s sales, but I’m afraid it may not. Unfortunately, people are still fooled by advertising, still listening and basing their self worth on what those who want their money tell them. It makes no sense.

These ladies wouldn’t fit into Abercrombie and Fitch clothing and that’s how Mike Jeffries wants it. Well, good! We don’t want them in your clothes, you weightist!

Prejudice toward someone based on race, gender, sexual orientation, religious beliefs or how much they weigh is unacceptable in any setting. I hope that people take a stand against it and stop buying anything from this company. I know I will.

 

 

 

 

 

4 Comments

Filed under Health Ally

4 responses to “Weighing in On Weightism

  1. brava, Sandra. and THANK YOU.

  2. “Prejudice toward someone based on race, gender, sexual orientation, religious beliefs or how much they weigh is unacceptable in any setting. I hope that people take a stand against it and stop buying anything from this company. I know I will.”

    Amen!

    Not that I could have ever bought anything from them (I’ve never been below a size 10 pant) no matter what my style tastes have been, I wouldn’t buy something for someone else from them. This isn’t the first time this company has done something disgusting in my opinion, and it won’t be the last. Sadly I don’t think it will bring the company down at all. The best thing I can do to combat these sorts of ideas is to be as fabulous as I can be in every day. To show that plus sizes can rock fashion and wear cool clothes.

  3. Louloubell

    Great article!

Leave a Reply

