Advice to New Writers

I’m writing this blog entry to participate in the Peevish Penman “My Best Advice to New Writers Blogfest.”
You can find all the blog entries giving out great advice here.

Being a new writer myself, my advice is going to be pretty basic.

1. Commit Yourself
If you want to make a living as a writer, if you want to be published, you need to put in the time. It doesn’t happen magically, despite us wishing it would. Treat it like any other job where you need to put in the hours and learn and improve as you go. As a Professional Fitness Competitor, I had no choice but to train and diet six days a week. There was NO OPTION. Now I treat my writing (ediitng, researching, outlining) the same way. There’s no option, no excuse, you just have to do it.

2. Support Group
Gather supportive people around you, whether you join a writing group, create one yourself, or keep close any of those people who will cheer you along. I’ve found my support people by attending Conventions, which I also highly recommend. I’ve also met them on writing message boards (Absolute Write Water Cooler is my choice), Twitter and through blogging. Writing is NOT easy, and editing is worse. (hee hee) When times are tough, those in your support group can give you the applause, shoulder to cry on or kick in the butt that you need.

3. Submit!
In order to submit something, it has to be your very best work. That means, first, you need to finish it. Yes, finish it! Finish that short story or novel and then revise it until it’s your absolute best work at that time. Then, send it in. Don’t be afraid of rejection letters, they are just stepping stones (or ladder rungs, whichever you prefer) on your road to publication. Celebrate each rejection because it means you finished something, polished it the best you could and sent it out into the world! That’s worth throwing a rejection letter party.

I encourage you to check out all the posts for Blogfest and get writing! 🙂

6 Comments

Filed under Advice for Writers from the Pros!, Sandra's Writing

6 responses to “Advice to New Writers

  1. I like the idea of starting my own writer group. I enjoy positive. You know, as it positive feedback, positive attitude even during critiques.

    I always remember that one poem about people who lift you up verses people who lean on you and hold you down. You’re post embodies the feeling from the first group and leaves me feeling motivated. Not every writer does that, but I try to surround those that do.

    Now, I need to apply your advice to my personal workouts, too, I see… Five minutes a day might not be enough, I suppose… Sitting in a chair typing all day not the best excuse I imagine…

    Great post from a wonderful aspiring writer with an infectious attitude! Thanks so much.

    • Thanks for the comment and I agree, positive people are the only ones you should have around you. The people I’ve been lucky enough to find are all of the same mindset. It helps tremendously!

      Do you need workout help?? Hmmm??? I’ll harass you on twitter later… LOL

  2. I like how you call rejection letters stepping stones. Something I’ll keep in mind!

    • It’s true!

      I first heard this sort of advice from Pat Rothfuss (author of Name of the Wind) when he was author guest of honour at our local VCON. He said, the first time you get a rejection letter, you should throw a party!! I like that advice… 😉

  3. Twitter is ace for finding new writers, and new blogs, and just generally getting support. Writing is by and large such a solitary existence, it’s nice to be able to have some kind of network where you’re all in the same boat!

    As for rejection…well Stephanie Meyer got rejected sixteen times before she found an agent who would take on Twilight, and look at her now!

  4. I love twitter! It keeps me connected to the writing community, which keeps me motivated. If I ever have a day where I’m not “feeling it” I can go on twitter and whine, and all my writer friends immediately give me a swift kick in the butt! Or, I see how many other people are tweeting their daily word count and it pushes me to get mine done. It’s also great for keeping connected with other writers I’ve met at cons, not to mention all the great writers, editors, agents and publishers I get to “stalk” on twitter. 😉

    Sixteen times rejected? I did not know that about Ms Meyer. That is inspirational. That’ll be my new goal..sixteen rejections. 🙂

Leave a Reply

