Steed My Advice

A wonderful friend of mine, John Remy of Mind on Fire, is conducting a group creativity experiment. He’s calling it the Tarot Randomizer Group Creativity Experiment. The premise is simple: for one week, he draws a card, and participants use it to trigger some new creation.

I think this is a fabulous idea and, even though I leave for Brighton, England in less than a week (for the World Horror Convention-yay!!) I’m going to participate as much as I can. You can find out about more about the project (and join in!) here.

The first tarot card draw is from the Rider-Waite style Tarot deck, and is the Knight of Swords. Below is my creation of choice for today, a poem, or perhaps you might just call it a flash fiction piece.



Steed my Advice

My heart races, the edge of battle pulsating through my veins

I am not here by choice. We are two against hundreds.

I have more wit than him, more sense, more foresight.

I would turn and leave this place.

Yet I am here,

far from those who truly love me,

the one who feeds and bathes me, the young one who brings me sugary treats.

Those swords will cut me open as surely they will him, but I am here

Bred and trained to loyalty. To do what I must.

But why should he decide my actions, my fate

I would not fight, kill or die

Yet I am here.

Heed me, take this advice.

Think and act for yourself, do not let duty override your common sense.

4 Comments

Filed under Creativity, Sandra's Writing

4 responses to “Steed My Advice

  1. I love this–you thought of the steed, when most are focusing on the rider. Your story drew my attention to the half of the card I never even considered before, and now it makes sense that it’s looking askance at the knight…

    Thank you so much, for the shout out, but mostly for joining in the fun! 🙂

    • It was the look in the horse’s eye that inspired me. He’s totally given the dude the “wtf” look. LOL.

      Thank you for running the group experiment. Again, awesomeness exemplified.

  2. ❤ You're awesome, Sandra!

Leave a Reply

