Time to Read?

Having enough time in the day to get everything accomplished that we’d like to, is a common problem. I know! Oh, for more hours in the day, right?

What I’d really like to find is some more time for reading. I took a long break from reading after University. I’d had too many books "shoved" down my throat for four years, that I didn’t pick up anything for a very, very long time. So I feel behind on my reading from those years, let alone all the new stuff that comes out all the time!

My husband pointed out to me that the bookshelf in our bedroom, which he bought me just under a year ago, was EMPTY then. Now, in less than a year, it’s crammed full of books I have yet to read.

The most obvious answers to finding more time to read would probably be to throw the television out the window, and unplug from the internet permanently. I’n not sure I’m willing to do those things!

How do YOU carve out time to read? I’m interested in tips and suggestions!! 🙂

10 Comments

Filed under Advice for Writers from the Pros!

10 responses to “Time to Read?

  1. An empty bookshelf? The horror! 🙂
    Have you tried audiobooks? I’ve started listening to them at the gym and when I commute. I was never really into audiobooks before but I started getting tired of radio. Plus, my library has a really cool downloadable book service called Overdrive. I can download from home to my mp3 player. Some of the books don’t work for me b/c of the voices, but I’ve found several super good ones.

  2. Lets see, I can’t sleep unless I read some first. I also read when I am doing cardio at the gym (I do the elliptical). And since reading is my #1 for relaxation..and I am in grad school and work 1.5 jobs..sometimes I read alot.
    Even when I should be doing other things…

  3. I don’t watch TV but that doesn’t seem to help me find time to read–working, raising a family, and writing take a lot of time.
    What I’ve been doing lately is keeping the book in my car. Then if I’m running out to pick up my daughter, I leave ten minutes earlier and get in a little time that way, and many times, she’s running late, and I’ll get fifteen minutes more. I also always bring a book to any appointments. I keep the latest small literary/speculative journal in my purse for similar unexpected occasions.
    I hope you find what works for you. I think part of it is not expecting a good, long hour anymore. That happens rarely it seems. Retirement might help 🙂

  4. Thanks. I listen to lots of podcasts,including some novels. What I’d need to do is get someone to record all the books on my shelf, and then I could listen to them! 😉
    I think my library has the same service, but it doesn’t work with ipods/itunes. I could go searching though, or I could get an inexpensive mp3 player that would work with those books. Hmmm…

  5. I do try and read before bed, and on the bike etc..but lately I’ve been sucked into the internet even while biking! (on my ipod touch) I really need to go back to spending that time reading!

  6. Thanks! I really should carry a book with me at all times for those little moments. I will start doing that!

  7. Earlier this year, I started listening to audio books. You can listen to them in the car, while exercising – hehe, or so I’ve heard 🙂 – and while doing mindless chores etc.
    It took a while to get used to ‘reading’ at someone else’s pace, but I’ve certainly gotten through a lot more books than I would have otherwise.
    Hope that helps 🙂

  8. I was intrigued by your post, because I’m having the same problem (I gave up a 35-minute subway commute each way, about 1.5 years ago, and I haven’t regained the reading time.) I’m considering adding “reading” to my daily schedule – a half hour block in the morning and a half hour in the afternoon, as transition time between other blocks.
    Yeah. I’m a little crazy when it comes to scheduling…

  9. Thanks. I’m definitely going to do more audio book listening!!

  10. I have a writer friend who does that, schedules in a half hour (or hour I forget) of reading every morning.
    I’m very much a scheduler, list maker, goal setter, so maybe I should do the same. I definitely think I should set reading goals for myself, not just writing goals. I’m so goal oriented I think that might work.
    Let me know if you start a scheduled reading practice and I’ll post some reading goals. 😉

Leave a Reply

