Photo Evidence

Here it is, photo evidence that I had a WONDERFUL time at the Surrey International Writers Conference. I do recommend it, if you ever get the chance. I didn’t stay in the hotel so I missed out on some of the late night things that sounded like a lot of fun…if I go again, I’ll probably stay in the hotel so I can take advantage of all the stuff going on.

Here’s my photographic evidence that I indeed was there..and you can just SEE how much I’m loving it..LOL.

Here I am with CC Humphreys, author of Vlad, True Confessions. (geez, I hope I got that title right. My mom and I heard him read at Word on the Street in Vancouver and she bought his book here at the book fair.)

With Richelle Mead. I went to her session called Serious Serials, she was great. I wanted to buy the first book in either of her adult series..and they wereall sold out!!

Here with Lorna Suzuki, an author I met on Twitter. (she’s a facinating lady!!) She was at the book fair selling her Imago books.

This is Robert Dugoni, author of the Cianide Canary (spelling?) and three law thrillers. He is an EXCELLENT speaker. His session was my favourite of the entire weekend and I’m going to see if I can do any of his other workshops. AND I bought one of his books!!

Here I am with one of my favourite authors of all time, Terry Brooks. I’ve read his book on writing and relate to him the most of any author. He’s so nice!! His appearance at the conference was the deciding factor for me attending.

And the man who needs no introduction…and who I’ve run into so much lately I’m pretty sure he thinks I’m stalking him..Robert J Sawyer.

13 Comments

Filed under Conventions

13 responses to “Photo Evidence

  1. Gah! robert Sawyer did a lecture at Queen’s University a few weeks ago. I so wanted to go but didn’t find out in time. *pouts*

  2. Looks like fun! Glad you had such a good time. Maybe you’ll be sharing some of the things you learned???

  3. Haha, I have that Terry Brooks book πŸ™‚

  4. I’m glad you had such a great conference!

  5. He’s really great. I always feel smarter when I read his books, and after listening to him speak. πŸ™‚

  6. Thanks! I’m glad I have somewhere to post them where people know who the heck I’m talking about!! πŸ˜‰

  7. I could definitely do that!! As soon as my brain stops hurting from asorbing it all so quickly, I’ll be glad to share!!

  8. I really like it..he talks just like you think he would from reading that book!

  9. Thanks, that’s kind of you to say. I’m constantly amazed at how friendly writers are, in person and online! πŸ˜‰

  10. I heard your name over the conference weekend, and remember wondering “is that the same Sandra Wickham that runs the bodybuilding shows?” But I didn’t see you anywhere and figured maybe I heard the name wrong.
    You may remember me from the bodybuilding/fitness show my husband Ted and I used to put on – I’m a fitness enthusiast turned author too!
    Glad you enjoyed the conference. It was a blast for me too, and I definitely recommend staying at the hotel.

  11. Denise!! Hi!! Funny thing is, we JUST had our show last night..so I’m a little worn out today, as you can well relate to. πŸ™‚
    I will have to check out your journal page!! What do you write, what are you working on?? How great is that, and strangely coincidental? LOL.

  12. Sorry we didn’t make it to your show this year. I hope it went well!
    I write YA, and yes, my whole publication journey is on my blog if you’re interested. I’m working on a new contemp. YA through NaNo and having lots of fun. Though crazy busy. I’m sure you understand πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

