Filling the Well

While on my writing ban, I’ve been ordered to "fill my well".

I know this is important, and I’m sure I don’t do it enough.

Here are some things I’ve been doing and/or am planning to do before my ban runs out.
 

  • Lots of reading: fiction novel, Fantasy & Sci Fi mag, Writers Digest magazine, writing advice articles and books
  • Home spa (hot bath, facial, manicure etc)
  • Watching movies with hubby
  • Crochet (currently working on baby blanket for me for a change instead of always making for others..for the future…but don’t tell hubby!)
  • Play with my cats
  • De-clutter! This is a great one for feeling refreshed!
  • Meet with friends for coffee/lunch
  • Exercise (though this is a regular one)
  • Email friends, send e-cards
  • Blog πŸ˜‰


I could use some more ideas…

What do you do to "fill your well", and how often do you do so??


8 Comments

Filed under Advice for Writers from the Pros!

8 responses to “Filling the Well

  1. A few times a year I’ll stop writing for a while and just read fiction. I really enjoy these times. There’s no pressure and I can mull over where I want my writing to go with a clear head. I write a lot of short stories, so I need this time to keep from repeating myself, to reflect on what I’ve done so far, to get new ideas.
    And yes, I find I play with my cat more. πŸ˜‰

  2. It seems like you’re doing a fine job of filling the well. I’d say I do about the same, mostly reading, and add to that listening to music or getting out in nature. I’m wondering if you’re starting to feel antsy, like you want to get back. I find is that the minute I start reading something really good, I can’t stand not writing, even if it’s not on the project I’m “banned” from (I like how you’re looking at it, makes me grin).
    Do you do any free-writing while you’re on break from the novel? I find that helps a lot–just whatever comes, without editing myself. Sometimes novel problems get fixed in the process; sometimes I end up with new story or poem ideas. I’ll be interested to hear an update on how you know when to go back!

  3. Sounds like you have a good system set in place. I’m sort of an all or nothing personality, so I really need to learn some balance!

  4. Hmmm…that’s an interesting idea..free-writing…however, for this particular ban, since I was going so hard as to cause my major meltdown, I’m forbidden to any writing at all, except blogging and not taking. I’m on a “full rest” to recover. I will definitely use that idea in the future though, thanks!

  5. When I need a break from novels, I write some flash-fiction. It keeps the old brain going and can be quite fun πŸ™‚

  6. I love good flash fiction!
    That’s a great idea, thanks. πŸ™‚

  7. I like adding cultural stuff into the mix – museum, play, movie, zoo, etc. It’s great for feeling like you got “away”, and usually spurs new ideas as well.

  8. Also a great idea, thanks! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

