POV Overhaul

I am 90% sure I want to change my novel from first person to third person and have parallel story lines. Yikes!

I originally put it in first person because all the Urban Fantasy I have read is first person, however I’m not so sure anymore if my novel is UF.  Diana who critiqued my whole second draft (her book Mark of the Demon is out now,go buy it!) thinks the novel is more of a sci fi rather than an UF, and I REALLY like that. According to fellow writers on the Absolute Write forum, they think from the sound of my novel, it’s not UF either but Sci Fi, or someone suggested it sounded like a techno-thriller, or someone else called it "Bio Punk". (Wha??)

Regardless of what it gets called, my point is I think I can put into third person without having to worry about a specific genre’s tropes. I have two reasons to want to switch.

1. To be able to give more in depth information about the governing body of the evolved race in the novel, what they’re doing from the point of view on a human on their side.

2. To build tension so the reader finds out bits and pieces before the MCdoes.

 I’m concerned that I might lose the "voice" of the novel, which I’ve been complimented on, when switching it all to third person.

I know it will mean a lot of work, but I have a feeling it will elevate the entire novel.

Any input from fellow readers/writers is of course, always appreciated!!

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “POV Overhaul

  1. If your instinct tells you this is the right move then you should do it.

  2. Hi, I’m Pat or Patricia (new here with you) and thanks for friending me.
    I had to smile when I read your post because about six months ago this is exactly what I did on my novel. I had written it first person based on suggestions by readers–it is really the protagonist’s story, what he has to go through, and so is character driven. First person made sense.
    But … as you said, I began feeling that I could build better tension if I had multiple events happening at once, things the protagonist didn’t know about. I also thought I might draw up more sympathy for the protagonist by letting other people give their perspective of him. I don’t know … it felt too constrained and possibly tiresome in this one voice.
    I’d suggest just trying it with the first few chapters and see if it feels right to you. It is a lot of work. It took a long time and very much had to be changed–not so much the plot, but I cut a lot of scenes, even some favorites due to adding new scenes from other POVs. In some ways it was very fun–getting to live in the world through someone else’s eyes for a change. And I am happy with the change.
    Good luck!

  3. Try it. That’s what I have to say. You don’t have to keep it, but you owe it to yourself to try it.
    Much love for the lolcat, btw.

  4. I don’t know about other people, but (most times) when I get a nagging feeling that maybe a big WIP change is in order, my sub-conscience has already decided to make the switch, it just hasn’t explained it to me properly yet.
    Hope that helps.
    Good luck, whichever person you end up writing in 🙂

  5. I feel for you on the whole what genre thing. I haven’t the slightest idea what my new WIP is, I’ve just been calling it paranormal/mystery. I don’t know if that’s even a genre.

  6. Thanks. When I thought of it, my heart raced a little, I actually smacked my forehead like “of course”…but then of course I started analyzing and over-analyzing it…I guess I have to learn to trust my instincts!

  7. Oh, I am so glad, thanks for adding this comment, I feel much better knowing someone else went through the same thing and it worked!
    Oh and “Hi” back Pat or Patricia, I’m Sandra, or Sandy. 🙂

  8. Thanks-and he’s great isn’t he? (the lolcat)

  9. Hmmm…that’s very interesting, and may also apply to me in this situation. Thanks, I’m sure I’ll let y’all know what I end up doing. 🙂

  10. It’s tough, isn’t it??!! Most people say just write what you want to write and worry about that later, but then there’s other people telling me, well you need fit it to a market yadda yadda yadda.
    And what about when it comes time to pitch it? Gotta call it something..I’m afraid if I call it an UF it won’t fit the genre, if I call it a sci/fi it might not be scientific enough, if I call it a fantasy, well, there’s no magic… *sigh*
    I’ll just make it the best writing and best story I can do right now and hope the rest falls into place!

  11. That’s just it! I’ve read enough agent blogs to know that when I go to submit this, I’d better know what genre it falls under.

  12. The novel I recently finished drafting is in third person with multiple POVs, and it’s a dark urban fantasy. I HOPE it’s possible to publish a UF novel in third person. My second novel will probably be in first person, though I haven’t actually planned one out yet.

Leave a Reply

