At First Iwas Afraid….


I was petrified….

I really was terrified when Diana Rowland emailed me with her critique of my novel. I didn’t open it for a day!! I figured if I didn’t open it, it couldn’t hurt me! Diana called me a wimp..and asked how I could get up on stage in a bikini (caveat here-for fitness competitions!) and not open a file?! My husband also thought I was nuts and told me if I didn’t open it I’d have nightmares of…"The File".

When I thought about what I’ve gone through year after year competing in Fitness, the discipline, the dieting, the pain, the suffering, the ultimate judgment on contest day, I realized if I could do that year after year (for ten years) I could open the darn file!

Once I did (and y’all saw this coming) it wasn’t so bad! In fact, I am now super pumped to get back at it. I got called on all the things I knew I was being lazy about, the world building I need to do, (I suck at world building stuff) and other parts I know I can improve on. I’m psyched, I really think I can do it.

Wish me luck and please stay tuned-and oh yes, the occasional "hey, how’s those rewrites coming along" would be greatly appreciated to keep me in line! 🙂

6 Comments

Filed under Advice for Writers from the Pros!

6 responses to “At First Iwas Afraid….

  1. Glad it wasn’t so bad.
    PS: Hey, how’s those rewrites coming along? 😉

  2. Sounds like good news.
    Now how are those rewrites coming along….? Oh, and did you take a look at those rewrites, yet?

  3. I love it when people go over my work. They see things I don’t, even if I’ve been looking at it every day for hours.
    The first time you do anything, it’s best to just do it and get it over with. Like ripping off a bandaid.

  4. Thanks and…uh…give me a day at least!! LOL

  5. It was good news all around, even though she pointed out some ‘stinkers’. Ha!
    Um, ya, not quite on top of the rewrites quite yet….

  6. Thanks, I’ll remember the bandaid analogy next time!! I have another critique coming in next week…

Leave a Reply

