Accountabilibuddies

Will you be my accountabilibuddy?

Okay, I totally stole that from South Park, but…I love it!

Having an accountabilibuddy for my first draft worked great. I made a deal with Diana Rowland (author of Mark of the Demon, out this week!!! www.dianarowland.com/) to check in with each other every week. I’d let her know if I was making my writing goals and she’d let me know if she was making her workout program goals. (that I designed for her) It worked like a charm. She also read my chapters as I went.

I have people to read my finished second draft, but I don’t have anyone breathing down my neck to finish it in the first place. So I’ve decided that all of y’all are going to be my accountabilibuddies, by announcing right here, right now:

My goal is to finish my second draft by July 1st!!

So now I’m accountable and I’ll force myself to check in here. Makes no difference if anyone is actually paying attention, the point is, in my little brain, I’m now required to do the work and check in and report.

Thank you.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Accountabilibuddies

  1. That sounds like a terrific idea. I’m a great believer in realistic goal-setting. Even when you don’t achieve them, you end up accomplishing way more than you would have done otherwise.
    All you need now is a catchy acronym to keep that goal in your mind when you’re away from the keyboard ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Write!
    GET TO WORK, YOUNG LADY!

  3. Maybe we should race! My goal is to finish my first draft by July 1st. I’m at 94,000 of 90,000 words. Yeah, my original word count estimate was way off. I have no clue how much longer it’s going to be. I’m trying really hard to get to The End.

  4. Ha ha! I think I will leave the acronym’s to you..
    I will just put nose to grindstone under fear of flogging by bloggers. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Re: Write!
    Thank you! Just come by and yell at me once and awhile, that would be perfect. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Oh, it’s on like Donkey Kong!! Hee hee.
    July 1st it is, I’ll be sure to check in on you!

  7. Re: Write!
    I will, lol. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

