Second Day of Second Draft

I’m happy to say my second draft is underway!


Two days ago I finally was feeling well enough to start working on my second draft. My computer crash yesterday meant I didn’t work on it, but now I’m up and running on my new laptop (thanks for all the advice on backing up stuff, storage etc!) I was able to be back at it today.

It wasn’t really as bad as I thought it would be…until I get to a section where it says "add" or a large chunk that is outlined and says "rewrite". But, I seem to be progressing nicely.


Since this is the first full novel I’ve written since I was nine…I’m new to all this, but know I work best with deadlines. I’ve chosen a couple of days before we go to Las Vegas for the World Series of Poker on July 4th as my deadline. That way I can get it to my wonderful readers,  www.dianarowland.com and www.jeannieholmes.com/ (I’m so lucky) to look at while I’m enjoying Sin City!

I’m not sure if that’s a realistic goal, it means about three chapters per day. So far so good, and maybe I’ll be able to do a lot more. When I was writing the first draft, I started out with a goal of 500 words per day, realized I could do much more and upped it to 1000 per day. I was reaching 1500 wds per day without too much effort, so I switched my goal to 1500, and often went as high as 2000. Maybe the same thing will happen with the pace of the second draft?? Maybe?? I can hope…..

Thanks again for the computer tips, I have, without a doubt, learned my lesson.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Second Day of Second Draft

  1. Three chapters per day? How long are your chapters?
    Be very careful with what you post online! The majority of publishing companies won’t touch a manuscript if it’s been put online. They consider that ‘published’. Also, I’m always nervous of someone copying and claiming it to be theirs.
    If you have a few good friends who are willing to take the time and look at it, then email them the chapters. I know of not one professional writer who posts any of their work, finished or first draft, online.
    There are writing forums where you can post them bits at a time for review by other writers, but they have a word limit, and you have to do reviews back.
    Good luck. 🙂

  2. Thanks-my chapters average 3000 words each, 34 chapters total. I should be working on more per day, right? I know because I feel like I’ve been slacking!
    I’m not posting my novel on their sites, sorry, I just meant those are the sites of the(wonderful) ladies who will be reading and critiquing the copies I send them.
    I’m not big on posting things for critique…I belonged to an online critique group for a while and it seemed a hit or miss sort of thing with the responses. With these ladies, both published with sequels to come..I feel much more confident.
    Thanks again 🙂

  3. ‘Thanks-my chapters average 3000 words each, 34 chapters total. I should be working on more per day, right?’
    I guess it depends on how detailed you want your story to be. I try to average 5-10k per chapter, but that’s just me. There’s no set limit as to how long chapters are suppose to be. A chapter is as long as it needs to be. 🙂
    What kind of story is it?

  4. It’s an urban fantasy. Shall I give you my elevator pitch? Tee hee. I don’t really have an official one yet. 😉

  5. Sure! 😀 I’d love to read it!

  6. Sounds like you’re making good progress. 🙂

  7. Thanks, I seem to procrastinate editing with much more fervor than writing! But I’m working on it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

