Priorities

It’s amazing when you’re not functioning at 100% capacity, how little time and energy you have for things and what that does to your priorities!
 
My multi-tasking has ground to a halt, which really bugs me, because I am a self-admitted multi-tasking addict. I’ve had to prioritize my time and energy and the things that (thankfully) have come to the top are family and the things I need to do to keep making a living.
Working out doesn’t count, because I’m unable to right now, and well, working out isn’t really a priority for me, it’s just a normal part of life, like brushing your teeth…or breathing.

Falling down on my priority list however is my writing, unfortunately. My second draft STILL has not been attacked, but I fear if I do not recover enough to begin working on it, it WILL attack me.

And crashing down to the very bottom of the list, social networking. I have recently joined Twitter, which led me to LiveJournal, both have definitely captured my interest, but I’ve had to push them aside to get my other ‘top of the list’ things done. Facebook, myspace, wha ? They’ve become non-existent right now.

It is nice to have a refresher into what my priorities are, and I’m glad they seem to have emerged in an appropriate and respectable order.

Since I am back on LiveJournal, that’s a sign that I am gaining back both my energy and my time. Facebook may have to wait a LOT longer. Still, perhaps I should be working on that second draft instead of posting here, but…hey, I’m still working on the order of things.

Talk to you soon, I would expect!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Priorities

  1. Question for the fitness guru. What sort of workout and diet is best for a person with a low metabolism? I am hypothyroid, take my meds, and eat like a bird, as in no more than would fit into the palm of my hand and I have small hands. I do not snack and I do not eat sweet stuff like candy, cookies or cake. I don’t like sweet stuff and this includes soda pops. I also do not snack on chips or any of that other crap, nor am I a fast food junkie.
    So what would be a good workout and diet for me? I have a treadmill and weights. I would like to lose twenty pounds. Any suggestions?
    Hope you are feeling better soon.

  2. Even the smallest of things can upset a well-oiled routine. Just take things one at a time, and it will work out.
    Blogging and social pages take a lot out of a person. You have so much to read, and the obligation of responding to those who post in your space. As much as networking is essential for writers, sometimes you have to take a step back every now and then, and make sure other parts of your life aren’t being neglected.

  3. Hope you feel better soon! And get to that second draft! 🙂

  4. Thanks! I am slowly getting better…and I have it on my “to do” list to start my second draft tomorrow. 🙂

  5. Thanks, I definitely see how the networking can start to get draining if you don’t take some time away once and awhile. I’ll be sure to do that on a regular basis!

  6. I’ll send you a message, since it’s probably going to be a long response! 😉

Leave a Reply

